Acting Judges

Under section 4B of the Supreme Court Act 1933 the Executive may appoint acting judges to assist in the work of the Court. Appointment for acting judges may only be for periods of up to 12 months.  Acting judges exercise the same powers and jurisdiction as resident judges.

To be considered for appointment, the person must have been a judge of a superior court of record of either the Commonwealth or a State, a judge of the Supreme Court or a legal practitioner for not less than 5 years.

Current Acting Judges

The Honourable Acting Justice Linda Ashford

The Honourable Acting  Justice Stephen Walmsley

The Honourable Acting Justice David Robinson

The Honourable Acting Justice Murray Kellam